April 04 2022 0Comment
cremation services in Turley, OK

What are the Different Kinds of Grief?

It’s been said that grief has five different stages, and depending on the individual, there’s no set time frame on how long it will take to get through the process. The pain of loss can be a challenging experience to go through, especially after the cremation services in Turley, OK, have been scheduled and they have to start learning to live their life without the loved one. Getting more knowledge on the different kinds of grief can help give you a better idea of supporting someone in need, so here’s more information.

Normal Grief

Because this emotion is a normal and necessary response to transition or loss, the reactions can be unique to the individual. Some people may display physical or emotional issues that could look like crying, sadness, fatigue, and can happen after a divorce, death of a loved one, or change in life such as losing a job or moving.


This version of grief happens when the individual isn’t showing signs of grieving. This can be more prevalent if the individual is in shock or disbelief around what has happened, and it may take some extra time for them to process the experience.


Collective grief happens when there’s a loss that is experienced by many people. This could be a world leader or a celebrity passing away that affects a whole community. It can also arise when natural disasters happen, and more than a few people are affected.


This grief happens when there is a significant amount of time between the loss and the individual reacting to the loss. You will typically find this when an individual experience is a loss of transition, and then they must be strong for other people. Common situations could be an individual left to take care of a surviving parent, or a spouse being left to take care of children on their own leaves little time to grieve.


Inhibited grief happens when the individual doesn’t show a reaction at all. This can be from believing that it’s not appropriate, or they may not show much emotion in general. It’s good to be mindful with individuals who are not displaying signs of grief that it doesn’t mean they’re not grieving; they may just be doing it in private.

Abbreviated Grief

This grief does not last as long as an individual may have thought it was going to. Some cases that this could be applied to are if the individual knew the loved one was going to pass away, or the person moves on more quickly after their spouses passed away to a new relationship.

cremation services in Turley, OK

High-Quality Services for Our Community

If you or experiencing a loss or are in support of someone who is, we always recommend practicing self-care as much as possible to help with the healing process. When it comes to cremation services in Turley, OK, you don’t want just any company helping you through the process. You need a company that understands loss and can offer a truly honorable service for your loved one that encompasses authenticity and compassion, so call us today to schedule your appointment.